Happy Valentine’s!

Remember i mentioned playing bollywood music for the opening of the Indian resto Bambu here in Tarapoto?

IMG_6501

IMG_6507

IMG_6494

Well, they, and the diners liked it so much they asked me to play every night. I said no fucking way.

Instead i curated a youtube playlist and handed it to them. Thanks youtube, for making me immortal.

IMG_6211

IMG_6495

IMG_6493

IMG_6503

So this may be really funny. I was laughing too while playing most of these tunes. But i’ll wring your neck if you ever call me a bollywood DJ. I made it clear to them i wouldn’t be playing the shit that bollywood churns out today. Instead i went back in time. It was easy to recall the 80s – 90s tunes. Had a few unrequited love stories then, and i had at least a few songs for each story. But the best songs were even older, the ones i heard in my mom’s kitchen. When she cooked, she’d put on some music in her cassette player. Every day. And these have stuck for way longer than i thought they would. I still think that was bollywood’s golden era.

Check it out.

Happy Valentine’s Day, bitchezz!

About johnny b

dj, writer, yoga instructor, traveler, moonwalker, headbanger, mind expander. View all posts by johnny b

6 responses to “Happy Valentine’s!

Leave a comment